Today’s Horse Facts: The Spanish Jennet

The Spanish Jennet is a beautiful refined multi-colored breed of horse.

Today’s Horse Facts: The Spanish Jennet

Old Painting of a Spanish Jennet

 

All right, be honest with me. Have you ever heard of the breed of horse called the Spanish Jennet? Really? I think I had years ago but then I forgot all about this breed. That might be because I haven’t been around horses for a long time, and I kind of lost interest in reading about them or learning about them. And I have never seen a Spanish Jennet in person either.

But since I’ve started this blog, I’ve learned so much about some breeds that I already knew about or I’ve learned about breeds that I never knew existed. It’s so exciting to see pictures of the different breeds and compare their colors, sizes, confirmations, and their histories.

So if you’re ready to learn about the Spanish Jennet, let’s take a ride past a farm where the owners raise some of this magnificent breed.

Here we go with our ten true/false questions:

  1. The Spanish Jennet is descended from ancient Spanish horses that can be traced back through many centuries to the horses of the Steppes of ancient Asia.
  2. This breed is four-gaited.
  3. The breed is a powerful, muscular horse.
  4. A registered Spanish Jennet horse must be at least 15 hands.
  5. This breed of horse can be any color.
  6. This “fancy” delicate horse is used mostly for parades and reining classes in shows.
  7. There are two divisions in the Spanish Jennet Horse Society: Pintado and Atigrado.
  8. The Spanish Jennet is also known as “the horse of the Middle Ages.”
  9. This breed generally has an energetic but docile (quiet) temperament.
  10. Pinto patterned gaited Paso Finos and appaloosa colored gaited Paso Finos are really what we now call Spanish Jennets.
Spanish Jennet Roan Mare

Answers:

  1. T
  2. T
  3. F  They have a “refined” appearance similar to an Arabian.
  4. F  They are typically between 13.2 and 15.2 hands.
  5. F  They cannot have a grey coat and are typically pinto or appaloosa, but there can be “solid-colored progeny in both the Pintado and Atigrado portions of the registry.” (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spanish_Jennet_Horse )
  6. F  This breed is excellent for trail riding, endurance riding, cattle herding, and it is shown in all classes at horse shows.
  7. T
  8. T
  9. T
  10. T

Did you get at least seven questions correct? If you did, then you definitely know what Spanish Jennets are. Aren’t they beautiful? Have you ever ridden one? I haven’t but I sure would like to. I’d just be thrilled to be able to pet one, but I have no idea where I’d have to go in central Pennsylvaniato see a Spanish Jennet. I guess I’ll just have to admire their photos on the Internet and in books.

If you want to learn more about this special breed, check out more information at these websites:

http://www.spanishjennet.org/history.shtml

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spanish_Jennet_Horse

Next time we’ll take a ride on an Icelandic Horse.

Happy riding!

Marsha

www.marshahubler.com

3 thoughts on “Today’s Horse Facts: The Spanish Jennet

Leave a Reply

