Today’s Horse Facts: My 2nd Horse

The plain horse facts about my second horse, Ginger, is that she was pretty but she was spooky, too.

Today’s Horse Facts: My Second Horse, Spooky Ginger

(Early 1970s)

 

Ginger, Pretty Pinto Walker
Marsha's Second Horse

After I sold Moon Doggie, my first horse ever and still dear to my heart, I bought a greenbroke part Tennessee Walker pinto named Ginger from a friend whose mare had foaled this pretty little thing.

Ginger was about three years old when I bought her. Now, I want you to know that I was “greenbroke” too. I didn’t know much about horses, especially how to train them. I had only had Moon Doggie, a gentle little Welsh Pony, for about a year when I decided to move on to a bigger, flashier horse.

Well, Ginger certainly was that. She was bigger, and she was flashier. However, if ever a horse could be labeled ADHD, that was Ginger. As pretty as she was, that’s how flighty she was.

Everything scared this poor horse. When I rode her, I had to be constantly on guard because her nerves were ever psyched. Her ears twitched like radar antennae and her eyes searched out every little sound from either side as we went down the trail.

Did Ginger have that nice smooth Tennessee Walker gait? She certainly did, but she was so skiddish, I rarely could kick her up into second or third gear. Even a leaf blowing across her path would spook her, and she’d decide to take a 90-degree turn without letting me know. Whoa, babe! I had to hang on for dear life!

My hubby and a friend had finished building our little two-stall

Marsha's Little Red Barn

barn to house my equines, so I started looking for a second horse. I kept Ginger for a year or two, but she never improved as far as her spookiness was concerned. I take the blame entirely for that because, as I said, I knew little about training horses, so I sold her to someone who planned to work with her and turn her into a fine, flashy mount.

Nevertheless, I still have fond memories of sweet, scared Ginger, a picture to feast your eyes on but not a horse to rest your butt on.

 Next time, we’ll take a break from my “horse tails,” and we’ll feature another Keystone Stables Horse Facts Lover, Hannah Shoemaker from Pennsylvania!

Marsha

(Learn about all my Keystone Stables books at

http://www.marshahubler.com)

2 thoughts on “Today’s Horse Facts: My 2nd Horse

Leave a Reply

